Skip to content

HirShabelle state assembly appoints presidential poll team

HirShabelle state assembly has appointed nine members to facilitate the election of a new state president following the ouster of the immediate president Ali Abdullahi Osoble in a confidence vote mid this month.

House speaker Osman Bare Mohamed announced the appointment of the nine and called on them to execute their role with fairness and in accordance with the constitution.

“In reference to Article 42 clause 2 of HirShabelle state constitution, I have appointed the presidential election committee for HirShabelle state,” the speaker said in a statement.

Mohamed Hussein Yusuf will chair the committee while Abdiweli Ali Omar will be the committee’s spokesperson.

The committee will be expected to lead the presidential election process which according to the state law is supposed to be conducted 30 days after the the no confidence vote.