Skip to content

New Jubbaland parliament sworn in ahead of presidential poll

Storyline:National News

Newly elected lawmakers in Jubbaland state assembly were sworn in today paving way for the election of a new president in a heavily contested exercise.

The 73 MPs unveiled by the Jubbaland Independent Boundaries and Electoral Commission (JIBEC) took the oath of office in a ceremony today hours after the polls body released the names.

The legislators will now proceed to elect the assembly speaker and deputies ahead of the presidential election later in the month.

A total of eight candidates including the incumbent Ahmed Islam Madobe will be contesting in the exercise.

The Assembly will be the second one since the formation of the Jubbaland State in 2015.