Skip to content

NIEC registers six more political parties

Storyline:National News

Somalia national independent election commission has registered six new political parties namely Hiil Qaran party, Maandeeq party, Tubta Toosan party, Hilow party, Dimuqaraadiga Danwadaag party and Danaha Bulshada Soomaaliyeed party.

The total political parties registered reached 82 transitional parties excluding the ruling party. Ahead of Somalia’s general election, the ruling party still stands unregistered which may cast doubt on the ruling administration’s ability to hold multi-party elections this year.

The National Independent Electoral Commission held an extensive meeting to federal member states attended by various members of the community including; Women, Youth, Disabled, intellectuals, University Students and Local Elders to consult and create public awareness to the 2020-2021 election in Somalia.

On 8th February 2017, Somalia’s MPs have elected Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo as a President of Somalia through votes for a four-year term.

Since 1969, Somalia has not had a one-person-one-vote democratic election which could turn dictatorship and civil war despite Islamist extremists in Somalia.

Goobjoog News