Skip to content

PM Roble retains key Khaire ministers in new line-up

Storyline:National News

Prime Minister Mohamed Roble has announced a new cabinet which is a cocktail of the old and the new retaining eight ministers from the previous government.

Eleven ministers from Hassan Khaire’s cabinet among them security minister Abukar Islow, his colleague at Interior Ahmed Sabriye, Mohamed Mareeye (information) and their education counterpart Goddah Barre were shown the door. The cabinet unveiled Monday night also features a total of seven new faces in trade, religious affairs, Women and Human Rights Development, Interior, Education, and Information among others.

Heavyweights in Khaire’s cabinet were retained in the same portfolios. This included Abdirahman Beileh (Finance), Gamal Hassan (Planning), Mahdi Guled (Deputy PM), Ahmed Awad (Foreign Affairs), and Abdirashid Ahmed (Petroleum). Health Minister Fawzia Abikar, Maryam  Aweys  (Ports) and Salah Ahmed Jamah (constitutional affairs) also survived the purge and were retained in their previous posts.

The new cabinet has only three women occupying Women and Human Rights, Ports, and Health.

The new cabinet line-up is made up of 27 ministers, 17 state ministers, and 26 deputies.

With barely four months before they officially leave office, the new ministers will be tasked mainly with preparing the country for elections set to kick off from next month and subsequently oversee a transition.

The Ministers require parliamentary approval before taking office.