Skip to content

President Farmajo appoints 4 new judges to Supreme Court

Storyline:National News

President Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo has today appointed four new Supreme Court judges.

In a statement Tuesday from the Presidency, President Farmaajo said the new changes in the Judiciary were in line with recommendations from Chairman of the Supreme Court Mr Bashir Yusuf Ahmed who came to office in May 2018.

The following are the newly appointed judges of the high court: Hassan Abdinur Abdirahman, Abukar Ahmed Ali (Qasaali), Abdulkadir Idiris Isse and Suleiman Mohamed Mohamud.

The Presidency noted the changes were part of ongoing judicial reforms in the country.

On May 27, 2018, President Farmaajo appointed Bashir Yusuf Ahmed, chief of the high court, who was dismissed by former chief of the high court Ibrahim Iidle Suleyman.

In the absence of the Judicial Service Commission which is yet to be formed, the judicial appointments and dismissals fall within the ambit of the president.

Goobjoog News