Skip to content

Regional Bloc EAC Leaders Confirm Appointment of New Secretary General


DAR ES SALAAM, Xinhua: The heads of state of the East African Community (EAC) have confirmed the appointment of Veronica Mueni Nduva, a Kenyan national, as the regional bloc’s new secretary general.

Tanzania’s Directorate of Presidential Communications said that the EAC leaders confirmed Nduva, the first woman to hold the post, during their 23rd extraordinary summit, which was held virtually.

Nduva will replace Peter Mathuki who was nominated by Kenya’s President William Ruto as Kenyan ambassador to Russia in March. Mathuki had been at the EAC since 2021.

The meeting was chaired by President Salva Kiir Mayardit of South Sudan, who is the current chairperson of the EAC.

The EAC is an intergovernmental organization composed of eight countries, namely the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Somalia, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Uganda and Tanzania.