Skip to content

Time line of Coverage: the spat between President Hassan and Prime Minister Abdiwali

Storyline:National News, World

President Hassan and PM AbdiwaliOctober 25, 2014:

The Somali Prime Minister Abdiwali Sheik Ahmed reshuffles his cabinet and made the following changes

  1. Minister for Justice and Constitution : Salim Aliyow Ibrow
  2. Minister for Agriculture, Livestock and Forestry : Farah Sheikh Abdukadir
  3. State Minister for Finance : Bur’e Mohamed Hamsa
  4. State Minister for Foreign Affairs : Abdullahi Mohamed Noor
  5. Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs : Abdirahman Abdi Osman
  6. Deputy Minister for Finance : Abdullahi Shekh Ali Qolo’ow
  7. Deputy Minister for Planing and International Cooperation : Mahad Mohamed Salat
  8. Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry : Fahmo Ahmed Nuur

October 25, 2014:

President of Somalia Hassan Sheik Mohamud issues statement rejecting the basis for the reshuffle by the Prime Minister, The president has also given order to all effected ministers to hold on to their previous cabinet positions.

October 26, 2014:

The Special Representative for UN General Secretary to Somalia Nicholas Kay holds separate meetings with the President Hassan, Prime Minister Abdiwali and Speaker of Parliament Prof. Mohamed Osman Jawari, trying to ease the tension and bring the two to work together.

October 29, 2014:

President Hassa Sheik Mohamud, Prime Minister Abdiwali Sheik Ahmed and Speaker Mohamed Osman Jawari holds meeting with the visiting UN General Secretary Ban Ki Moon in Mogadishu.

November 2, 2014:

The Special Representative for UN General Secretary to Somalia Nicholas Kay issues press statement condemning the spat between the President and The Prime Minister, he also accused Somali MPs of receiving cash for vote

November 2, 2014:

The Special Representative for European Union to Somalia issues press statement raising concerns about the political spat between the the President and the Prime Minister

November 2, 2014:

President Hassan Sheik Mohamud issues a reply press statement to that of The Special Representative for UN General Secretary to Somalia Nicholas Kay , reminding him that Somalia is a sovereign nation, and leaders can solve their difference through constitutional forums. He urged him to respect the sovereignty of Somalia.

November 5, 2014:

The envoy of IGAD to Somalia ambassador Mohamed Abdi Affey arrives Mogadishu in a bid to mediate the two leaders.

November 6, 2014:

A no confidence motion against Prime Minister has been sent to the parliament, raising tensions between the President and Prime Minister

November 8, 2014:

The Speaker of Parliament Mohamed Osman Jawari holds meeting with 85 MPs, he reportedly told them that the No Confidence Vote against Prime Minister will be halted because of pending negations between the President and The Prime Minister.

November 9, 2014:

A committee selected by 140 MPs who were pushing the No Confidence Motion holds a press conference declaring that they will go ahead with their plan of tabling the motion in the parliament; they also stated that the issue does not concern the International Community.

November 9, 2014:

President Hassa Sheik Mohamud, Prime Minister Abdiwali Sheik Ahmed and Speaker Mohamed Osman Jawari, The Special Representative for UN General Secretary to Somalia Nicholas Kay, The envoy for European Union to Somalia, UK Ambassador to Somalia, and US ambassador to Somalia holds meeting in the fortified Halane UN bastion in Mogadishu in a bid to solve the differences between the President and The Primes Minister. Later it emerged that no settlement has been reached.

November 10, 2014:

135 MPs opposing the No Confidence Vote against the Primes Minister issues a press statement calling President Hassan to refrain from lobbying the motion. They also pointed out the Motion is marred by bribery.

November 10, 2014:

A SMS has been sent to MPs overnight reminding them that the following day the No Confidence Vote against the Prime Minister will be tabled

November 10, 2014:

Parliament session opens in a bid to debate No Confidence Vote against the Primes Minister, but the seating turned to chaotic as MPs began Shouting Marchs and Whistles, they prevented the Speaker from opening the session. The Speaker finally declared that the session is closed.

November 12, 2014:

Close to 115 MPs holds press conference accusing the Speaker of taking sides and causing the chaos in the Parliament, they stated that the Speaker was trying to table unconstitutional motion.

November 14, 2014:

Germany Ambassador to Somalia Andreas Peschke issues press statement urging political stability in the country.

November 15, 2014:

For the second time parliament was unable to hold a session on the motion due to the disruptive MPs who refused to allow the house to proceed with business, they claimed that the motion is unconstitutional. MPs were singing and shouting.

November 21, 2014:

Parliament speaker Mohamed Osman Jawari departs for an official trip to Djibouti , he told reporters while he was on his way out at the Aden Ade International Airport, Mogadishu that the parliament session on the no-confidence motion against PM will be tabled on Monday (November 24). And that he would deal decisively with any disruptive elements in the parliament according to the law.

November 24, 2014:

Yet another parliament session on the proposed motion against PM fails to kick-start, after shouting marches and commotions among the MPs.

November 24, 2014:

Parliament speaker issues a 10 points statement, halting the whole business of parliament on the motion until stability is returned to the parliament.

November 24, 2014:

Prime Minister Abdiwali holds a press conference, he accuses the president of organizing the motion against him, he also cites the motion is been promoted with corruptive means. He states that the motion is not about grievances against the cabinet competency but rather about a president’s friend who got his moved from his ministerial docket to another. He also accuses the president of meddling with the business of the executive.

November 26, 2014:

Three different political groupings hold secret meeting in the president in a bid to end the impasse, the first group consists the President Hassan Sheik Mohamud, Minister Farah Sheik Abdikadir, and former intelligence head Mohamed Abdullahi Sanbalolshe, the side was the speaker of the parliament while the last group was two MPs representing who were against the motion, namely MP Prof. Mohamed Abdi Gandi and MP Abdu Dhuhulow.

They reportedly agreed to allot the parliament to do its business and proceed with the motion.

November 29, 2014:

Parliament speaker issues a statement announcing that on 2nd December, the parliament will hold session to table the motion and that on 6th of December voting will take place.

December 2, 2014:

Parliament opens without hitches, motion distributed, there were 207 MPs present in the house.

December 4, 2014:

MPs start debating the motion, some 86 MPs register for the debate and parliament has had a tight schedule as it worked for two shifts.

According to the documents distributed, there were some 138 signatories to the motion.

December 6, 2014:

Parliament session opens, some 20 MPs does their debating and voting started by mid day, there were 235 MPs in the house.

After voting is done, the Speaker announces the results as the following

153 MPs votes yes for the motion against the PM

80 MPs votes no to the motion

2 abstains to vote

Then Speaker declares that the parliament has effectively withdrawn confidence from the Prime Minister Abdiwali Sheik Ahmed and his cabinet, he calls for the president to name new Prime Minister immediately.

Goobjoog News