Skip to content

Ethiopia’s Parliament approves new cabinet

Storyline:National News, World
FILE: Ethiopia House of People’s Representatives Approves New Cabinet

The House of People’s Representatives (HPR) of Ethiopia today unanimously approved a draft law prepared to restructure executive organs and new cabinet nominated by Prime Minister Dr Abiy Ahmed.

The new cabinet has a record number of female ministers, consisting 50% out of the 20 ministers.

The following are the newly appointed cabinet members.

Mrs Muferiat Kamil —————————-Minister of Peace

Mrs Aisha Mohammed ———————— Minister of Defense

Ahmed Shide ———————————— Minister of Finance and Economy

Umer Hussien———————————- Minister of Agriculture

Mrs Fetlework Gebregziabher —————- Minister of Trade and Industry

Mrs Adanech Abebe —————————– Minister of Revenue

Dr Getahun Mekuria ——————- Minister of Innovation and Technology

Mrs Dagmawit Mogess —————— Minister of Transport

Jantirar Abay —————————— Minister of Urban Development and Construction

Dr Samuel Hurko ————————– Minister of Mines and Petroleum

Dr Tilaye Gete —————————- Minister of Education

Mrs Hirut Woldemariam (PhD) —— — Minister of Science and Higher education

Mrs Yalemtsegay Assefa —————— Minister of Women’s, Children’s and Youth

Mrs Ergoge Tesfaye (PhD) —————————– Minister of Labour and Social Affairs

Mrs Hirut Kassaw (PhD) —————– Minister of Culture and Tourism

Mrs Fitsum Assefa (PhD) –—————–Minister of Planning and Development Commission

Dr Workneh Gebeyehu (Minister of Foreign Affairs), Dr Amir Aman (Minister of Health) Dr Engineer Dr.Engineer Seleshi Bekele (Minister of Water, Irrigation and Electricity) and Berhanu Tsegaye (Attorney General with the Rank of Minister) remained as ministers.

The appointments took into consideration competence and educational background, according to the Prime Minister.

SOURCES: Fana Broadcasting Corporate-FBC