Skip to content

Former federal gov’t minister elected as the Southwest state president

Storyline:National News

Former Federal Minister of Energy and Water Resources, who is also a current member of the Federal Parliament, Abdiaziz Hassan Mohamed ‘Laftagareen’, was declared as the President of South West State Somalia

Laftagareen who got 101 votes was declared the winner after defeating four other presidential candidates including Adan Saransoor who was the second winner got (22 votes), Ibrahim Maalim Nuur (6 votes ), Hussein Osman Hussein(3 votes), Sayid Ahmed Sheikh Dahir (4 votes ) and13 votes have dissipated.

Mukhtar Robow who was SWS presidential candidate was struck out his name from the ballot by the election committee following his arrest and still remains under the custody of the federal government of Somalia.

The Federal Government has opposed Robow’s candidature citing U.S sanctions which were imposed on him in 2008. However, the state election committee has since cleared him for the race.

Laftagaren was the federal government’s choice for the South West presidency following months of disputes over the matter which saw former president Sharif Sheikh Adan resign and pull out of the race under pressure from Mogadishu.

Abdiaziz Hassan Mohamed ‘Laftagareen is also a prominent politician in Somalia who held different powerful positions in the federal government of Somalia.

Laftagareen who was the federal government choice now becomes the second president of South West since the regional state was formed.

Goobjoog News



More:South West