Skip to content

New S.West MPs list released over a year after presidential poll

Storyline:National News

The new list of state MPs for South West state has been released with a cut of 54 seats making 95 the official number of MPs in the state assembly.

The unveiling of new MPs comes over a year after the state president Abdiaziz Laftagareen was elected in December 2018.

Notable in the list is Somalia’s ambassador to the EU Ali  Faqi whom sources have intimated to Goobjoog News is touted to be the new speaker.

A total of 149 MPs from the first parliament since formation of South West state in 2016 elected the current president following the resignation of then president Sharif Sheikh Adan who also pulled out of the presidential race.

Laftagareen who was a former minister before his election joins the league of his Galmudug counterpart Ahmed Qoorqoor, too a close ally of the Federal Government as among the Federal Member State leaders in good books with Mogadishu.

Puntland and Jubbaland have had strained relations with the Federal Government as HirShabelle maintains close ties with Mogadishu.