Skip to content

Somali ministers pass an independent constitution review committee

Storyline:National News

Somalia’s council of ministers held its regular meeting, chaired by Prime Minister Hamze Abdi Barre.

The council discusses several issues, including current security issues in Mogadishu, the country’s capital city, the accomplishment of the provisional constitution, the bilateral agreement between Qatar and Somalia, and the food security bill.

The ministers discussed and approved the agreement between the Somali government and Qatar. The deal is about media, culture, and the arts.

Somalia’s Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Review tabled members of an independent constitutional review commission, which consists of five members, and got the approval of the ministers.
Here is the list of the names

1. Mohammed Hassan Idriss
2. Ahmed Mohamuud Jama
3. Mohamed Abdalla Salah
4. Farhia Mumin Ali
5. Burhan Adan Omar.

In addition, the council debated the country’s drug and food safety bill, which sets regulations on food and drug standardization.

The ministries impose orders to safeguard the civilians in the city and instruct the security agencies to protect the people in the streets.

In the last 24 hours, a number of civilians were killed in the city by the Somali security forces.

More:In Pictures