Skip to content

Abdirashid Jibril elected new speaker of Puntland parliament

Storyline:National News

Puntland state parliament has elected Abdirashid Yusuf Jibril to be the new speaker to replace Abdihakim Dhoobo Daared who was kicked out in a vote last week.

Out of the 63 state assembly members, 46 voted in favour of Jibril making him the new speaker of the state parliament. In the first round, Jibril got 34 votes followed by Abdijamaal Osman Mohamed with 17 votes.

Ali Ahmed Dhahar came third with 12 votes in the first round. In the final round, Jibril got 46 votes while Abdijamaal Osman Mohamed garnered 17 votes/

Daared was voted out of office last week by 49 out of 53 MPs present. Daared had had run-ins with state president Abdullahi Dani.